1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to forums (and Mini's)

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 07:58 PM
rthomas555
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to forums (and Mini's)

Ordered my mini 1 week ago, obviously can't wait for it to show up! (yes I have my VIN)
MCS with premium, LSD, DSC, Sport suspension, and since I wanted reasonably priced black wheels - the 16" all seasons to be used for winters(oh yeah, rooster tail too).
Been obsessing about run flat tires or not, today its not, looking at ASA AR1's with Potenza RE050A's (not run flats). One question I can't seem to get an answer for is, if you run a "run flat" tire flat for a length of time is the tire worthless?

Old 05-24-2007, 08:19 PM
dimini
6th Gear
Welcome to NAM rthomas555.

Good runflat question, but I must admit, even though I've been driving MINI's for four years now, I don't have the answer to that $225 question.

On my first MINI, I ditched the runflats as soon as they were down to minimal tread (for lease return) and replaced them with Michelin all season non-run flats. There was a very nice and noticeable change in ride quality. I haven't driven an R56, but I think even though it's more tame (less harsh) than the R53's, you'll still find the non-runflats to be a superior feel. On my current MINI, I never gave the runflats a chance. I run the old Michelins on OEM 16's for winter and have a second set of 16's with summer performance tires. It's really a great way to go. If you have quite a bit of snow, you'll probably want to replace the all-seasons with actual snow tires.

Congrats on your VIN!

Old 05-25-2007, 05:27 AM
jjbug
3rd Gear
I've been told that you can drive on a "flat" run flat for 80 miles up to 50 miles an hour. Any more than that and you can cause damage.