1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Group Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2007, 06:53 PM
arby
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Group Newbie

Hello there. I guess I am the newest member of this group. I've joined because I'm interested in purchasing a Mini Cooper S and know nothing about them. Reliability? Dependability....breakdowns, travelling in snow, problems noticed on the '07, etc? Honesty please.

I currently am the owner of a pickup truck and am also wondering if I'd be shooting myself in the foot for trading in the versatile truck for the cooper. It would be my only vehicle, well my other being a ducati. Anyway as a firefighter I need to be able to get to work regardless of the weather conditions. Anything else anyone would like to share would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Old 07-28-2007, 07:00 PM
1QukMINI
6th Gear
It's a great car. It really is. I came from a small SUV, and I don't miss it a bit! I recommend it wholeheartedly. They do have an AWD MINI in the works that might meet more of what you're looking for, as well as the Clubman which would make it easier to get your gear in and out of. I'd check those things out, as well. But you can't go wrong, just more right with one of the options...
jason

Old 07-28-2007, 07:05 PM
andyde
5th Gear
Arby,

here is a question, what do you use the pick up for? is it just to get through foul weather or do you actually haul things around quite a bit?

Remember, you are comparing two completely different vehicles. The mini gives me that grin factor all the time, but I also know that I am sacrificing space. I came off a 4runner into a MCS. Truthly I feel safer in the MINI than I did in the 4runner.
I cannot speak much for reliability but try doing a search here or the net to check it out.