1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I may buy a Mini soon (Dec 2008)

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2008, 03:25 PM
JTHK
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I may buy a Mini soon (Dec 2008)

Hello!

I've been reading many of the past threads and have learnt much from these past posts. Thank you to all who have taken the time to post their stories and experiences.

I have been a Subaru lover for years; sadly, my 2004 Subaru Impreza (Outback Sport) was recently in an accident so I may be up for a new car soon. I've loved Minis for years and now may be in a position to buy one. That, or another Subaru!

The space-issue is a question for me as I'm a traditional Irish musician and my wife and I do lots of local driving and may have to adjust our plans to accommodate the Mini. Most likely, I'd go with the Cooper even thought I would love the turbo-charged engine, I don't know if I can justify that purchase.

If I were to get a Mini, I'd absolutely require it to be able to handle studded snow-tires for our western Massachusetts winters. Do you know anything about this situation?

Cheers,
Jonathan

Old 12-14-2008, 04:05 PM
wannab drivin
3rd Gear
Check out this thread. Maybe a Clubman would suit your needs?
From what I'm reading here on NAM, with snow tires, they go like a tank.

https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...a-clubman.html

Old 12-14-2008, 04:20 PM
JTHK
Neutral
To Clubman or not to Clubman

Hey there,

Thanks for the post. I've only briefly looked into the Clubman but part of me says that the bigger car kinda defeats the purpose of a Mini, in a way. That said, I know I'd appreciate the extra room! Will check it out!

I'm also curious as to which Minis come with performance tires? Are they standard on all S models and optional on all non-S models?

Jonathan

Old 01-07-2009, 07:21 AM
JTHK
Neutral