1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch & Transmission

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2009, 06:18 AM
violetruth
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clutch & Transmission

HI I am new to NAM and I do not own a Mini as of yet, I have been reading a lot of reviews and there seems to be some problems with the clutch going out and transmissions problems. This has me concerned as I do not want to buy a car where the clutch goes out every 15K miles or so. Could you please enlighten me on this issue. Thanks for your help.

Old 09-10-2009, 08:51 PM
YAMA CAT
2nd Gear
I had the same concerns about the Mini before I purchased. I also read the the consumer reports review of the Mini. It received high marks and best buy for 2009. The review showed poorer scores in some areas for the earlier models, however each year the Mini continued to improve in each area that it was weak. Minis may not be perfect but appears that they are working on it.
What's written is not always the overall picture. For each owner that is going through the maintenance nightmare, there might be 100's owners that never had an issue.
My suggestion to you is to pick up a Consumer Report read it for yourself. Call your Mini dealer ask them about the clutch and transmission.
You might not get the exact answer that you want, but hopefully you'll be better informed before you make your decision.

I read the threads, the reviews and made the calls. My MCS 6-spd is 3 weeks old, so far my favorite toy I have ever purchased. The staff at my dealership were helpful and honest. If or when I have a issue. I feel confident they will be diligent in resolving it.

Old 09-11-2009, 04:54 AM
violetruth
Neutral
YAMA CAT

Thank you for your response and comments and good luck with your MCS.

Old 09-11-2009, 05:26 AM
rhawth99
6th Gear