1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Me 03 MCS

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2010, 08:51 PM
millsan1
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Me 03 MCS

Hi all. I am a Mini Newbie. My GF has always wanted one. I always thought they were cute, but not for me.

I found myself in the position of needing a commuter car, having to drive 90 miles a day to get to work now, as opposed to taking the subway. My regular car is not one you want to pile miles on, so I went looking for a car.

It is amazing how little car you can buy for $5K. Everything in that range is crap, or at least everything I looked at.

So then I thought about buying a new, small car (Scion B, Corolla, Nissan Cube, Kia Soul), but I didn't want a payment.

So I woke up Saturday and saw an ad for an 03 MCS with 83000 miles for $7500. A quick check on edmunds showed that the car trade in value was over $8K and retail was closer to $10K. Some looking on ebay, autotrader and others confirmed this.

Went and took a look at her, drove her for 15 minutes and an hour later was out the dealer's door with my new toy.

I have not bought a used car in some time, so I went through what I used to go through, give it an oil change, do any required maintenance for the mileage, etc. She did need two tires, which I knew about prior to purchase. Imagine my chagrin finding out what a goofy size tire is on the car. Pep Boys, R&S, no luck. Firestone had 2, and in just one model. w/e, went and bought them and had them put on.

I then took her to a detail shop and had them clean her up, as she was very dirty. (I actually bought her from a wholesaler, who does no prep to the used cars he has, but I saved a tone of $, so yay me.)