1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

boot modification question

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2010, 01:10 PM
sunseasurf
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
boot modification question

I am a newbie considering getting a mini. I noticed each version has a different rear end cargo boot access design. Anyone tried to modify their mini so that you can....

1. throw a longboard (7 footer and up) THROUGH the back window like an old woodie?
2. modify the rear windows to power up and down like the old suburbans/station wagons.
3. Modify a fold down rear tailgate (like a truck tailgate) so you can sit on your rear tailgate at a tailgate party/sit on your tailgate and change into bike shoes/wetsuit/running shoes/hiking boots? (with a powered full car width window inside, that goes up and down? )
4. modify the rear compartment by ripping out the rear seats and turning the rear compartment into a lounge so you can park at the beach, watch the waves through a sideways couch in the rear of the car facing the beach and get to the couch through the rear door or the club doors?

Old 07-25-2010, 01:24 PM
Bullenbeisser
1st Gear
We just bought a convertible Mini and noticed today that the tailgate has a 176 lb. limit. Meaning it looks like if you're tipping the scales at a buck-fifty you're cool. Knowing that, seems as though a mod to handle more weight would be fairly straightforward.

Both back seats fold down and you can put the tailgate down, so maybe you could turn the board on edge between the front seats? It would hang out the trunk a bit and you'd have to have a red flag attached - it may be worth taking the board with you and checking out a convertible.

Good luck!

Old 07-25-2010, 01:34 PM
sunseasurf
Neutral
thanks... thats a mini load for sure.I really like the design of the fold down tailgate.

Old 07-25-2010, 02:34 PM
klricks