1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New kid in the block!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 10:55 AM
marcos28
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New kid in the block!

Hello all! I'm new in NAM; Tucson, AZ, resident. I just bought a 2005 MiniC for my soon-to-be college freshman daughter. Car mileage is at 48,790; previous owner bought it from Florida. When I first saw the car in the car sale lot, I was not really sure about getting it; but when I test drove it...I know I have to get IT! Didn't really have a chance to inspect the engine since it was raining (yes it rains in AZ once in awhile he, he). I have a few questions to get me off at right direction here. HOPE I can get help.

1) Radiator water reservoir is way low/empty and have a bluish liquid in it. Question: can I just refill it with regular 50/50 water coolant?

2) When I bought it, the next maintenance log showing on the speedometer panel was saying '10000' miles. But now after driving it barely for 50 miles...Tachometer has 'Service Engine Very Soon' light just turned on this morning. Is it panic time for me now? Nearest authorized Mini Cooper service shop is at least 110 to 130 miles away (in Scottsdale, AZ).

3) Only got one key (with remote functions). Just need a spare key to open and start engine in case initial key is lost or misplaced. Does anyone know if there's any drawback in getting just regular key?

HOPE to hear for some one from NAM...and assist me. Thanks!

Old 04-20-2011, 11:25 AM
Evasive
5th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts