1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Greetings Fellow Mini Fanatics!

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2011, 03:47 PM
BondJamesBond
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Greetings Fellow Mini Fanatics!

Hi Everyone!

Crashed my 2000 Toyota Camry a couple months ago and at 6'7" tall have had a terrible time finding a car that worked for me...until I discovered the Mini Cooper Clubman! I figured as long as I'm going to be making monthly payments anyways I may as well spring for a brand spanking new car! This is my first time buying a new one.

I'm still in negotiations with my MA over price and features so thought I would come in here and get some feedback from those who might happen upon my post.

Name: Dragon

Design: 2011 MCS Clubman Automatic Transmission and JCW Strut Brace

Exterior: British Racing Green II Body and Roof with JCW Spoiler and White Racing Stripes, Chrome Bonnet Scoop and Driving Lights, Union Jack Side Scuttles, Black Jack Sun Roof Graphic, "Let's go Motoring" License plate Frame, and Union Jack tire air valve caps.

Interior: Leather/Cloth Polar Beige Seats and Color Line, Armrest, and Chrome Line Interior. Piano Black Dash/Door Ring.

Now that we have the build, on to the questions!

Can someone explain to me better what the JCW strut brace does? I added it because I have heard MINI's can rattle quite a bit and according to the description on the build configurator I thought it might help with that? Is it a waste of money?

There is a Dynamic Traction Control option for $250 that says it turns off the DSC features...what else does it do? Is it worth it? What would make it worth it? If I don't get it it means DSC will be on all the time, which I have read is an incredible safety feature, but how much is the car going to drive me rather than me drive it?