1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Age-Old debate

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2011, 12:48 AM
khurley424
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Age-Old debate

Hello! So, ive been driving for 3 years now, and its FINALLLYYYYY time to move into a proper fun car. Ive got it down to either a subaru wrx, or a MINI, and i am going to ask a question that im sure has been beat to death, but hopefully some unique input can be given to my situation: r53, or r56?

I drive 70 miles per day exclusively for school, and ive just taken a new job so that figure will increase. I am have concerns about the reliability of a supercharger to handle the kind of miles the car will see. But, i prefer what i read about the r53's handling, and its much more budget conscious. Does anyone think a gen1 cooper s can handle school + work + a [very] spiritied drive/auto-x here and there? Are there reasons i should absolutely buy an r56 instead of an r53? Will an r53 blow up on me, or can i trust it? And do you reckon a MINI s will be a more enjoyable car than a subaru? Thanks for your tolerance of my noob questions!!!

Old 07-25-2011, 01:31 AM
ZeR0 EVOlution
2nd Gear
The R53 is hands down a better tuner car, but the R56 has been less bitchy in my experience. The Peugot engine has tended to be more reliable for me, but other people my disagree.

If you're going to do Auto-X, I'd recommend the R53. Easier to work with. As for enjoyability, the Mini will definitely be more fun to drive, but Subaru's are better cars for the long term. But a Mini has a better standing in society as it's German, so it's a better car to drive day-to-day and still be able to go to a business meeting and be taken seriously.

Old 07-25-2011, 08:38 AM
ZippyNH
6th Gear
Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts