1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Post-Lots of Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2011, 06:53 PM
zipitydooda
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Post-Lots of Questions

Greetings Mini World;
I am a newbie here, but a seasoned Forum guy on another car site, (think American V8 and fiberglass body & Z06).

By May of 2012 I will need to buy my first daily driver in over ten years, I have been in a company car for that time, and I am overly excited, because I get to buy what I want. My shopping list is varied and two Mini models have peaked my interest, the Clubman and Countryman. These are both going to be tight on space for what I need, but I think they will work.
I am a early 40-ish male, married with a 3 year old daughter and I average 25-30,000 miles per year on my cars for work. My wife and I have owned two BMW's 335i and 535xi sedans. I do road course instructions for various car clubs, Miata and BMW, and would like to take the Mini out on the course, maybe once a year or so.

On to some of my questions;
I am leaning towards the JCW versions just for the additional power, is it worth the extra money for the JCW version or is it better spent getting the S version with the JCW tuning package, sport package and brakes? I optioned out an S with tuning etc. vs. a JCW and it was under $2,000 difference.

What are the physical engine difference in the JCW car versus an S? Is it the same block, different tuning?

Is it worth it to order the $500 Sport Suspension from the factory or do some thing aftermarket, I don't want to void the warranty or service agreement.

Do you have any supporting dealers that work close or below invoice on cars that are ordered? On the other Forum I am a member of they have various dealers around the country offering "Forum Specials".