1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shifting my Mini!

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2012, 04:36 PM
frankytdesigns
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shifting my Mini!

I just passed the break in period of my new 2012 Mini Cooper and I love every thing about it.

Let me just say this, I have been driving stick for almost eight years now and I feel like I have a love hate relationship with the way the Mini shifts.

Maybe I am shifting wrong but I actually don't like how the Mini pulls the gear shifter into gear, I am talking about the actually stick, not the transmission.

It feels kind of rough....maybe it's just me. My old Mitsubishi Lancer felt a little more smooth when shifting, at least at the shifter.

I shift my Mini by depressing the clutch fully and making sure my foot is off the gas. After shifting into gear I ease off the clutch and depress the gas until the gear is engaged, my natural feel of shifting and the way I used too shift my old cars always felt smooth, however with the Mini I feel like I can never have a fully smooth shift every time. Especially in the lower gears!

It's probably me, not driving the Mini right, any tips or advice?

Thanks

Old 04-04-2012, 04:51 PM
Eddie07S
OVERDRIVE
Received 1,209 Likes on 940 Posts
Originally Posted by frankytdesigns
I just passed the break in period of my new 2012 Mini Cooper and I love every thing about it.

Let me just say this, I have been driving stick for almost eight years now and I feel like I have a love hate relationship with the way the Mini shifts.

Maybe I am shifting wrong but I actually don't like how the Mini pulls the gear shifter into gear, I am talking about the actually stick, not the transmission.

It feels kind of rough....maybe it's just me. My old Mitsubishi Lancer felt a little more smooth when shifting, at least at the shifter.