1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New, looking for Potential

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2014, 06:02 AM
downthedrain
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New, looking for Potential

Greetings, I'm completely new to the MINI world but I thought that I might dive in and share the experience. Currently I'm selling my Twin Turbo Z06 due to family interests, and I needed a fuel efficient, good looking, fun to drive car. The Cooper S seems to be the best option for me. So, here I am.

What options should I look for and what should I avoid when looking for a Mini? I'd like to keep my price range under $10k and I'm prepared to buy used. I'm not experienced with BMW but I am mechanically inclined and have a full garage. What's the deal with working on these cars; difficult, easy, don't touch ? Any particular modifications I should stay away from, I'm not against performance mods but I'm not sure what mods on these cars turn them into grenades.

I apologize for the questions, but this is a new world to me.

Old 04-14-2014, 12:38 PM
ultrakill
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would try to avoid 1st gen Cooper S, as those have known transmission problems. Anything 07+ should be ok, but I would wait until some S owners chime in. You might want to head to the R56S (2nd gen mini cooper S) sub-forum and ask your question there.

Old 04-14-2014, 01:18 PM
RobMuntean
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by downthedrain
Greetings, I'm completely new to the MINI world but I thought that I might dive in and share the experience. Currently I'm selling my Twin Turbo Z06 due to family interests, and I needed a fuel efficient, good looking, fun to drive car. The Cooper S seems to be the best option for me. So, here I am.