1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need advice: mini s vs. wrx

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2005 | 07:00 PM
minesgeek
|
Neutral
need advice: mini s vs. wrx

so i am new to MINI town here and i was looking at the differences between a wrx and a mini cooper s (i am in the market)

i am going to be living in CA so no need for awd.

i don't plan on having kids anytime soon so i don't need 4 doors.

i do plan on fiddling around a little bit with my car and i have ridden and driven both so i think that i am settled on either one but i am having a difficult time choosing between the two. both are in my price range ('04 models).

i know there are a ton of things to consider but i was just wondering if i could have some help coming up with a deal breaker...

Old 03-18-2005 | 07:22 PM
rataha
5th Gear
Sounds like the deal brkr is looks.
Guess the WRX looses

Old 03-18-2005 | 07:49 PM
RR|Suki
2nd Gear
WRX interior is veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrryyyyyyyy cheap, and they have a propencity for tranny trouble... and I personally don't like it's turbo lag... good friend of mines GF bought one and we taught her to drive the manual, ok car flimsy though. I've only test drove the mini twice I like it more cuz of the solid feel it has also I looked up insurance, I would look into that aswell. so in the end it's an opinion thing. Oh the wrx is faster... but whatever.

Old 03-18-2005 | 08:09 PM
goaljnky
Banned
I was making the same choice. Looked at all the cheap looking stuff in the WRX and got a loaded MCC instead. A few more grand would have gotten me an STI and I've been lusting after that car since mid 90's. But one test drive in the Mini and that was it. Not a single regret. Plus I really got turned off by the image projected by the WRX/STI drivers.

Old 03-18-2005 | 08:20 PM
manoo
3rd Gear
wrxvsmini