1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Member: 03 Prices Falling

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2005, 01:32 AM
trick
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Member: 03 Prices Falling

I've been starting to think of replacing my Miata with a MCS. The Miata has been great and I might keep it on as a dedicated track school/autox car, but might sell as well. Enough about the Miata. No one wants to hear about that.

After initially looking at used Minis, I had decided I would eventually order an 05/06: Sport/LSD/Chrono (want oil pressure gauge). That's it. Some dealer stuff (rally lights, ipod adapter).

No sunroof (6'2" and will need to get a helmet in there as well). Comes out to just less than 24K. Not bad at all. Plus a MFS wheel for cruise control.

There's a 03 IB/B (I think it's Indi, I'm new to all this ). Loaded with everything but Chrono and Nav. I think I could live with the Sunroof if I had too. 18K on the clock.They started at 24K, then it slid to 21,900. They're down to 19,900 now.

I've had it out on a test drive. Tempting. It would take me a while to find the ideal seating position with the sunroof in there. It's going to be an adjustment either way from the Miata.

Sounds like the jury is still out on the OEM LSD. Which, is one of the sticking points for me on this '03.

I've done some reading. I guess my immediate questions:
1. In anyone's opinion is the factory LSD up to the job on an auto-x course?
2. Are we stumbling into the end of the insane resale value of these cars?
3. Aside from the LSD, the different MFSW, and other interior mods, am I missing out on anything else from an '05 if I go the used route? (So many people have traded this model year to get into an '05 I wonder if I'm missing something.)

Sorry for the long, first post but I had to break the ice some time.

Old 05-12-2005, 05:45 AM