1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How often do you oil change?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2005, 01:01 PM
BigD
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How often do you oil change?

Hi all,

Just got my 05' MCS yesterday outta dealer lot. Again extremely lucky to find my car in inventory stock. Gotta take and post some pix soon. Anyway very curious to see a poll when you change the 1st oil change. I'm a newbie so please understand where I'm coming from. Not used to hearing 10k mi oil change as I'm old school 3k mi and 1k mi 1st oil change. Bit nervous to wait till 10k mi on service computer.

Yesterday I was motoring around Princeton, NJ where I've seen 5 Minis and 4/5 of them greeted me with hand waive/ thumb up/high beam. I'm really not used to this kind of welcome warmth...Very hard to drive and say hello to everyone you bump into, but I gotta say it was pleasant to associate with. Thanks everyone.

Old 06-05-2005, 01:19 PM
MSFITOY
OVERDRIVE
Received 34 Likes on 23 Posts
I'm old school...change before 5k or sooner like a Dragon meet:smile: Even though I use Amsoil that suppose to be good for 20k, I just don't like seeing black oil on my dipstick

Old 06-05-2005, 02:10 PM
Aqualung
4th Gear
I've been changing mine every 5k....only had one 10k so that was free, the others were $70 -- I gotta do it myself one of these days!

Also, be sure to check the oil level consistently. I was surprised once at ~5000 miles to find it down a quart. My SA told me it was "normal". Note that it's my daily driver, no track days, etc.

Old 06-05-2005, 02:17 PM
holdenontoit
6th Gear
5 k here too..................RELIGIOUSLY! If you do your own oil changes be sure to get oem filters, and if not stay away from all the "speedy" (genaric) oil change places ...........they're craaaap. Jock

Old 06-05-2005, 06:16 PM
Uncle_John
6th Gear