1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Convertible top and snow loads?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2005, 08:11 PM
TimButterfield
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Convertible top and snow loads?

Before I order a convertible as a daily driver, I would like to know how strong the top is. I live near Chicago and worry about driving to work, having a snow storm while there, and coming out to see the top collapsed. As this will be my daily driver, I need something where I do not have to worry (much) about getting too much snow. Can the MCSC handle snow loads okay or am I better off getting a MCS for a year 'round daily driver? I would like to try a convertible (never had one), but not if I have to leave it garaged when snow threatens. Any insights would be appreciated.

TIA

Old 07-06-2005, 11:33 AM
MyMini05
2nd Gear
Tim - I am in my first season with the vert so there has not been a flake on the roof yet.

From what I see, the top is well built and should handle any snow load. If you get concerned with a wet snow, just take a few moments and brush it off.

Happy Motoring - Fred

Old 07-06-2005, 11:52 AM
TimButterfield
Neutral
snow load specifics?

Originally Posted by MyMini05
From what I see, the top is well built and should handle any snow load. If you get concerned with a wet snow, just take a few moments and brush it off.