1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

newbie here with a couple of questions....

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2005, 10:09 AM
simpsoap
2nd Gear
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
newbie here with a couple of questions....

hi guys! from what i can see looks like this is an awesome forum with tons and tons of information. well I am looking to get a MCS, just haven't decided on brand new 2006 or used 04 or 05. Besides this, I wanted to ask you guys what you think about products that really up the horsepower compared to the JCW kits? I mean, I know the JCW keeps the car under warranty, but does that really matter? Have there been lots of issues with using parts from Turner Motorsports or Mini Mania?

Also, is it worth it to invest in the Harman Kardon stereo or go aftermarket? Moreso, if I am willing to spend $400-600 on a HU, and a couple of hundred on each set of speakers, what would be more beneficial?

Thanks guys!

Old 09-22-2005, 11:01 AM
smcfamily
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Those are loaded questions, and it can create a heated debate, about the performance options. My belief is that you can beat the JCW performance safely by going the aftermarket route, and save enough money for big repairs later in case something goes wrong.

The track record for making the easy mods to get the car to over 200 hp (15% pulley, air intake, and exhaust) is very good, with few or no issues. More on this can be found in the performance mods section of the forum. This is the route I took on my 2003 MCS, and I have been very pleased. In fact, I'll do the same with my 2006 MCSc as soon as it gets here!

However, there are some who really like the benefits of the MINI-certified JCW package, and it gives them peace of mind about the warranty. I think its overpriced, and I really enjoyed doing the work.