1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Convertible worries?

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2005, 02:19 PM
TCroly
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Convertible worries?

Aloha All,

Tom from Maui, Hawaii here. My wife and I have been enjoying our 2002 yellow MC for 4 years now and we are thinking about ordering a 2006 convertible. We have always been convertible people having owned more than a dozen in the past. However, it would appear from reading these forums and other message boards online, that everyone who has a convertible is experiencing premature top wear. In our 20 years of convertible ownership, including 3 different BMW cabrios, we have never had excessive top wear and have never needed to replace a convertible top.

So could any happy convertible owners put my fears at bay by posting that they are not seeing any unusual or excessive wear on their convertible tops? I recognize that a few very vocal people on the internet can make a small issue seem like a bigger one than it really is, but I am hesitant to place an order for a new convertible if there is no one who has found the top to be trouble free. It also appears that of the many who have had their tops replaced under warranty that their top wear problems persist. Has anyone had top wear and then had their top replaced to find that the wear problems have been solved?

Tom

Old 10-08-2005, 05:14 PM
zeusboy
2nd Gear
I have an '05 MCS convertable that I've had for a little over 9 months and am starting to see a little wear where the main support folds. It's not real obvious, however, I may look into seeing if warranty covers replacement or a fix. It's just a slight discoloration, about the size of a silver dollar and sort of disappears when I rub it with my hand. I'm not really getting too upset over it though. I rarely have the top up.:smile: