1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Perceptions from non-MINI owners about the MINI?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2005, 07:12 PM
MikeK
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi everyone,

First off let me say that is is an outstanding site! I'm a geek by trade and by nature and I love to be able to find forums for things of interest. This site does the MINI proud.

Here's my question. Does anyone here drive a MINI when they can afford something a whole lot more expensive? I've been looking at $40k cars recently, but I just drove a MINI for the first time, and I think I'm in love with the MCS (no surprise to everyone here I'm sure). It's just that I'm a little concerned about the image it portrays. My wife is concerned that it will come accross as being something of a toy, and I'd lose respect from businessmen that I work with. I realize that's caddy, but she does have a point about how people can perceive cars.

One of my previous cars was a Beetle Turbo, and I got lots of comments from people about it, and not all of them were good. She'd rather not see me go through that again. She's also an attorney in a large firm, so she's looking out for herself as well.

I know this is an emotional subject (I've seen some of the "chick car" threads), but I just wanted to see what the MINI people think since you all deal with people daily.

Thanks for any constructive comments.

Mike

Old 11-27-2005, 11:20 PM
Chicanery
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post