1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Xenon headlight problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2005, 07:40 AM
Big Dave
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Howdy! I'm brand new to the NAM and I'm trying to solve a problem with my headlights in a 2003 Cooper S. On passenger side the low beam Xenon won't come on. The high beam on that side does work. The problem is intermittent. The low beam will work for two or three weeks, then it won't. Swapped the bulbs and the Xenon bulb from the flaky side works in the good side. Bulb from good side won't work in the flaky side. Swapped control modules - they both work in the good side. Neither work in the flaky side. Checked fuses in engine compartment- all good.

Only thing I haven't done is take headlight ***'y. completely out of the car to try to get at what I believe is the "Igniter" or ballast module inside. Can this be replaced if I take the headlight out of the car? Anyone ever have problems with their Xenon headlights?

Keep the rubber side down!

Old 11-29-2005, 07:46 PM
NealW
2nd Gear
Dave,

You may need to post you question to "Beneath the Bonnet" to get an answer. Maybe my "bump" will get the attention of someone who knows the answer to your question.

Old 11-29-2005, 07:47 PM
chrisneal
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi Dave, try sending a private message to a moderator and have them move your question over to the "Beneath the bonnet" forum. You'll probably get much better response over there. I don't have xenons, so I'm clueless, but good luck solving the problem!

Edit: Neal and I think alike. That's because my last name is his first name and we both have CR cars.

Old 12-09-2005, 05:51 AM
BluMiniMe
4th Gear
My '03 just developed this problem, but only in the morning when its cold. Once they've been lit for the day, they will both come on.