1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Impressions (Kinda)

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2005, 03:34 PM
iwantonetoo
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Impressions (Kinda)

Now that I've had my MINI for nearly a month, I thought I'd write a bit about my impressions so far, as an a non-gearhead/wrench monkey/car nut, etc. It's unlikely that my MINI will ever be modded, raced, or customized. I'm probably not going to agonize over cleaning products or ever change the oil myself. I'm just a typical driver and to me my MINI is just a car - a really fun car with it's own MINI personality, but still just a car. I don't really know a heck of a lot (ok anything) about cars but if anyone out there is wondering what it's like to be a non-expert MINI owner, here's what I've discovered so far:

What I Love About My MINI

It looks great and it's unusual. It's a real head turner. People smile when they see it. Kids absolutely love it. They point it out to their parents excitedly when I drive by. Teenagers wave to me and yell out compliments. It's usually (though not always) the only MINI in the parking lot. If there's another MINI I try to park next to it or at least near it. I have never seen another MINI like mine around here. I have seen about a bazillion other SUV's just like mine - and I mean exactly like mine.

It's a ton of fun to drive. My other vehicle is a huge behemoth with cushy everything. My MINI is a little zippy, road hugging, marvel. If I'm on the freeway and need a bit of extra oomph to get by that truck or whatever, it's got it. The automatic transmission seems very smooth and efficient so far. It even knows when to shift down when I'm going down a big steep hill. The steering is wonderfully responsive - no worries about hitting those potholes or hubcabs. It's really fun to zoom around corners and curves.