1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lead time and markup

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2006, 10:14 AM
motoring101
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lead time and markup

[SIZE=2]Hi,
I'm new to the club (actually not quite in the club yet - not until I decide to order). I have a number of questions I hope someone could answer. Please bear with me as I'm new to all this.

I was talking to an advisor at a MINI dealer in northern California and he said I can get a MC 1 month after I order it (with a markup of $1K). My questions are:
- Is that a realistic time frame or is the dealer just quote me that to get the business? I've read people on this forum with > 6 month lead time.
- Seems like markup is a standard practice considering how popular MINI is. Is that how much you paid for your MINI?
- Do MINI dealers typically charge Advertising fees (like other car dealers) or is MSRP (plus any markup) all you need to pay?

Many thanks in advance
[/SIZE]

Old 01-17-2006, 12:05 PM
mtbscott
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
There are plenty of dealers around who charge MSRP (even in California), I'm sure some of your fellow Californians will chime in. There are also many out of state dealers who will happily take your order and have your car in around 5-8 weeks average. Dealer markup is not the norm.

Old 01-17-2006, 12:08 PM
SandiePepper
6th Gear
East Bay

East Bay no Mark Up just ordered one today, wait time 6 months

Old 01-17-2006, 12:19 PM
Larkin W.
2nd Gear
Markup...