1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm new here... and I need your advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2007, 09:36 AM
jones'n4aMINI
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm new here... and I need your advice

Hey Everybody
So this is my story.

I have wanted a mini for as long as I can remember. I went and test drove one back in the day (7 or so yrs back) and had everything picked out in my head- color, interior and out, etc. But I never got one, being a student and all.

Now a few years later, I am still a student and back in school- grad school, and have been thinking that now is as good a time as any!! Why not live a litte? And get a Mini now before I have kids down the road...
sigh
only thing is, I don't have that much money so I would have to buy a used cooper. HOWEVER- having done my research and read a few threads on here I'm not sure I want to shell out the bucks for a mini that might catch on fire!!

So I need your help and advice.
I have noticed that its mostly the '03's that have the most problems, so I was thinking about an '05...but they still have the CVT's in them...and is it true that the '07's do not have the cvt's and are therefore safer??

what should I do?
Should I try and find a used car that has had the cvt replaced?
Also I am currently driving a beetle with turbo, so the switch would be noticeable and I was thinking I would have to get a cooperS for the pick up I am used to...
Anyway, just want to hear some thoughts on all this.
Let me know if it is worth it, and what year and mileage I should be looking into? THANKS!!

Old 03-05-2007, 09:55 AM
R56MCS
Banned
Can't help with the questions (I'm in UK) but welcome to NAM!

Old 03-05-2007, 10:12 AM
Merkursport
4th Gear
Yes indeedy, welcome and by all means make yourself at home here on NAM