1st Gen Countryman (R60) Talk (2010-2015) R60 Countryman Discussions

R60 Few questions about starting the engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 01:41 PM
Braldee
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Few questions about starting the engine

I am new to this and MINI is my first car.

1. I noticed the car turns on when I put my foot on breaks. Is this correct? How about turning it off. I noticed pressing it once (after it is on Park), the music still plays on or the console is left on. DO I just press it again to turn the engine off? Or just leave the console on and after I leave the car locked, it will just shut off? Sorry if this question is so silly.

I ended up having to press the "start button: several times to get it to turn off, sometimes, when i press
it off and the console is on, then i press it on once more, it starts the engine. SO I do not know what is the accurate and SAFE way to turn and turn it off

2. Given this is my first car, I heard cars need to "cool" and wait few min after turning on the engine like other cars before driving it. Does this apply to MINI cars , esp the "14 CMs, given these are well built engines..
I even heard the "BREAK-IN" procedures for new cars as well with many miles to enable the engine to work well in the long run or something... do i still need to do these? And even driving it slowly, progressively from 55ph to not shock the car... i just keep hearing these things from random car owners. I have no idea what is right to do.

Old 02-23-2014, 01:50 PM
Ian Landesman
4th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
If you have comfort access, press the start button while pressing the clutch (or break since you are in an auto?) to start. To turn off totally hit the button twice. If NOT comfort access, hit once to turn off engine, and remove your key. That simple.

Follow the owner's manual's instructions for break in procedure.