Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

Single stage paint experiment

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2007, 06:56 PM
TooTall
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Single stage paint experiment

Ok, a weird OCD way to spend part of my 50th birthday, but something about the day made me think I should start doing some of the things I had been putting off for 20 years.

I can't post this at Show Car Detailing, it ain't no show car. It's my sister's 1976 VW van, and the white paint has been running down over the red since the day my folks bought it. Environmentally friendly but lousy paint! Obviously the whole car will need to be repainted by someone someday, but I thought it was a good chance to practice my PC skills and see what a little M83 and a W7006 pad would do. If I burned through, no big loss.

The before shots are laughable. This is the north side, that brown stuff is moss growing on it. I did wash it after these shots and before polishing, which got the moss off but didn't do much for the paint. Yes, I should have clayed too, but didn't have any handy and didn't want to drive into town.

I only did the red (came to my senses, I did say it was my 50th and I am getting too old for this um, shtuff...) but it really cleaned up. Working on single stage paint is every bit as fun as Richard says! It really brought out the orange peel in the lousy factory paint.

Old 09-05-2007, 07:08 PM
El_Jefe
6th Gear
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
holy crap.

that looks awesome

Yeah, I am one of those odd people who wish that all cars had no clearcoat. Just put on a lot of coats of regular paint and let polishing and waxing make it real. They look better anyways.

Old 09-05-2007, 08:23 PM
kenchan
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
wow, renewed paint.

Old 09-05-2007, 08:33 PM
Brihyanna
6th Gear
Holy crap indeed. Great job!!

Old 09-06-2007, 06:44 AM
OctaneGuy
Vendor & Moderator :: MINI Camera and Video & c3 club forum