Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

Newbie Detailer questions...

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2006, 11:29 AM
mini_dreams
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie Detailer questions...

Hi All... I'm a total detailing newbie... have never done any of the things you're talking about in the past, just washed in wash bays or (dare I say it) car washes. I think once or twice in the past (maybe 18 years ago) I waxed one of my cars.

Now that I'm more attune to what a good detailing process can do, I'm trying to study up in here on what to get. My Mini is about 3 weeks away, so I have some time to try to learn and order some products.

I have a few quick questions:

1) I've been reading Yo's Dad thread (Zaino, Meguiars, Griots, other) about which products to use, because I'm in the same boat... Question though, is, if I do the same and not have the dealer wash or detail the car when it arrives (I saw a brand new S on their lot with swirls!), does that mean that it is unprotected and needs to be detailed in the first day?

2) Many responses to which products to use say "use what works best for you"... but in my case, I've never used any of these. Should I just start with a starter's kit from Griots (or Zaino or Meguiars if they make the same?)