Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Forced Oversteer / Zero toe @ rear wheels

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2003, 01:42 PM
rts
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To any NAM member that can help me out !

What I'm trying to do is force oversteer in the MCS, as to have the control and ability to have throttle steer in any high speed turns. Just like a rear wheel drive car.
I've been doing track days for 19 months with my MCS/Works, have about 4,050 track miles put on the car and feel very comfortable with the set up I presently have, but like anything I need/want to take it to the next level.

The MCS presently has FRONT tire pressure hot 34 lbs wheels set at negative 2.25 degrees camber with 0.5 negative caster with stock swaybar, struts set at midway from firm. The REAR tire pressure hot 37 lbs. wheels set at negative 2.00 degrees camber with a 22mm sway bar, struts set at one click from full firm.

The MCS is presently handles very netural neither understeers or oversteers, this is at extreme speeds 125-130 mph sweepers, OR with a decreasing radius entry at 125mph exit at 110mph.

What I'm trying, is to be able throttle steer thru a sweeper rather than skuff tires, and lose speed. I've been told that a zero toe setting in the rear wheels induce oversteer. Is that true in a front wheel drive car such as a Mini ?

Please help me out !!

MCS4Roy

Old 12-11-2003, 01:54 PM
Phobol
4th Gear
I've been told that setting rear sway bar to the firmest position will induce oversteer. But i'm no pro...

Old 12-11-2003, 01:58 PM
rts
1st Gear
Phobol,
Thanks I've already done that

Old 12-11-2003, 02:14 PM
ColoradoMark
4th Gear
Your hot tire pressures seem low to me - have you had a pyrometer to check out the pressures and your camber settings? Did you corner weight your coilover settings?