Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R56) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Putting Car on Jack Stands

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2013, 07:36 PM
johntotah94
6th Gear
Received 33 Likes on 26 Posts
Putting Car on Jack Stands

There are only 4 lifting points on the car so I don't understand how to put the car on jack stands when you have to use the jack to lift the car. Sorry I am an amateur. I don't think you can jack from the rear because the exhaust goes right through the center. Is there any other jacking points not stated in the manual? Thanks!

Old 05-08-2013, 08:03 PM
Braminator
OVERDRIVE
Received 51 Likes on 36 Posts
Old 05-08-2013, 09:38 PM
chrunck
6th Gear
Received 230 Likes on 194 Posts
I usually put a 2x4 between the jack points under the side skirt and jack from there. It seems to work pretty well. I've also jacked on the frame near the front, which also works well provided you find a good spot.

I'm not sure why you started the thread in this subforum. You'd be more likely to get responses in a more general subforum, not the modifications subforum.

Old 05-10-2013, 05:26 PM
mbwicz
6th Gear
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts
What are you working on, how many wheels do you need in the air at once? I normally jack up one side with the front jack pad, then put a jack stand under the front subframe. I usually then just leave the jack in place, with the stand as a safety. You can get a jack stand on the rear subframe, but I don't feel that good about it. I trust my floor jack, and use one of the aluminum inserts in the jack pads.

http://www.ecstuning.com/Mini-2008-C...Pad/ES2603147/

Have fun,
Mike

Old 05-11-2013, 06:09 AM
cct1
6th Gear
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by chrunck