Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Sprintex Stage 2 vs JCW vs Harrop TVS900

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2021, 11:52 AM
thevastdifference
2nd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Sprintex Stage 2 vs JCW vs Harrop TVS900

I'm on the last legs of my 2nd supercharger, purchased rebuilt from WMW back in 2012-2013. Lasted me about 80k miles, but I think the noticeable whine disappeared around 50k miles. I am choosing to keep my car since I've done extensive work on it for the past 13 years, and don't really need another car.. so I'm looking to get another SC, but can't find any definitive information on which of these SC options might be best. I don't track, but I am a spirited driver, and I want to make it at least another 80-100k miles in my beloved R53. What would be the best decision, longevity and cost-wise for daily use? Sprintex Stage 2 (~$3500 on outmotoring), JCW ($2k on WMW), Harrop ($3250 on SCOL)? I'm particularly interested in the Harrop TVS900, if it may offer a significant change in performance over the older Eaton design of the JCW.

Thanks!

Old 07-28-2021, 11:56 AM
thevastdifference
2nd Gear
Oh, I would like to add, I feel like I have engine heat issues - which setup runs coolest? or how can i alleviate the heat besides upgrading the IC?

Thanks again!

Old 07-28-2021, 06:36 PM
MrBlah
6th Gear - AX Champion
Received 265 Likes on 211 Posts
tvs is newer eaton design and is the most efficient aka coolest running

Old 07-28-2021, 10:37 PM
OCR
5th Gear
Received 118 Likes on 104 Posts
thevast...

To be sure of what you are buying, you need to do some serious homework.
You need to find out what each blower will put out, in cubic inches of air, per...each single 360° rotation of the pulley for the best power.
Remember...pressure equals horsepower AND...heat..! So a QUALITY intercooler (see oem, GT) will be required.