Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Electrical ncs expert for 2013?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2013 | 08:07 AM
mrtristan
|
1st Gear
ncs expert for 2013?

newbie here... got my first mini in march and absolutely love it... it's a 2013 cooper s.

couple questions... there are some things that i'd love to be able to do... like closing windows with the remote and enabling the blinking alarm light and such.

is NCS Expert compatible with late model mini's like mine? i've read mention of a different cable being required for later models? not sure which i should pick up if NCSE is compatible at all...

does using NCSE affect our warrantys at all? will the dealership give us slack for doing so? i've done some searching but haven't come up with much...

thanks guys

Old 06-09-2013 | 07:53 AM
kavatski
3rd Gear
I also have a '13 R56 S, April production. Went at it with NCSExpert and the cable from ecutool.com that's recommended in one of the other threads - no problems at all. Worked exactly the same as described for other model years. I used the latest (V49) datens I could find to make sure it was as up-to-date as possible.

Alarm blink will not work on our cars - my understanding from reading other comments is that the 2011+ cars are missing wiring to make this work. If you don't have the alarm you don't get the light unless you wire it up.

I added the comfort closing (windows/sunroof) and one-touch sunroof open/close, disabled A/C auto engagement, got rid of the speed in the tach and the road freeze warning, and removed the Canadian code so I had control over the DRLs.

I don't see any real warranty concerns here. The car can be returned at any time to its factory settings.

Old 06-09-2013 | 08:43 AM
mrtristan
|
1st Gear
Originally Posted by kavatski