General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 Manual Transmission weirdness

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2012, 12:02 PM
kimi1964
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 Manual Transmission weirdness

Hi guys - I have tried to search the forums for a similar topic, but I am not sure of all the correct terminology. Please feel free to move this post to a more appropriate place if needed.

First - I've been driving manual transmission since I first starting driving in 1979. So I am not a newbie at a manual transmission.

My problem - 2002 non-S 74K w manual transmission. Starting noticing shifting gears did not seem as tight as usual. That nice little click you get when sifting into gear has started to disappear. (Not sure if this is related to my real issue or not.)

Also, when I park, I park in reverse gear. A couple of times it felt like it wasn't actually in reverse - there's usually a little kick when I put it in reverse, but it wasn't there. When I let up on the clutch pedal a bit, it seemed to move forward. I thought maybe I'd missed the gear so I did it again and just turned the car off.

THIS WEEKEND, I went to put my car in reverse to back out of the driveway and I could not find reverse gear anywhere! Far back right felt like 4th gear, and was definitely moving the car forward. I tried all 6 positions and neutral. Just wasn't there. In addition, the upper far left for 1st gear was not 1st gear - it also felt more like 4th or even 5th. I tried to ride the clutch a bit to see how it felt, and it felt like trying to move a car from a dead stop using 4th gear.

This whole weirdness went on for several minutes. It happened again today while I was driving - I was going from 1st to 2nd gear, and it was like going from 1st to 4th or 5th.