General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Which one to buy???

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2012, 02:51 PM
Sonny1az
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which one to buy???

Considering a 2006 John cooper works GP car vs a new JCW model. Will be daily driver, thoughts about getting into some track club stuff. I'm new to mini's. Not new to sports cars. What are these cars like to live with? Any thoughts on the GP car? Is it a deal or is the newer tech in a new JCW better than the older GP horsepower? Welcome some informed opinions...

Old 11-23-2012, 02:57 PM
submitaweasel
5th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'd get the GP. I am biased as an R53 owner though.

Old 11-23-2012, 05:33 PM
minsanity
6th Gear
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Shouldn't be a difficult decision. Hands down GP! 1st gens are way easier to maintain, mod & are more fun to drive & own. 1st gen GP is by far the ultimate MINI.

Old 11-23-2012, 05:54 PM
willieboy
2nd Gear
GP is the right one

Old 11-23-2012, 10:52 PM
Sonny1az
Neutral
3 for 3

That's three for three. 2006 GP. Will look at it again tomorrow. I appreciate the input. Thanks for taking the time... Open to more if anyone wishes to comment or give me their thoughts.

Old 11-24-2012, 07:30 AM
minsanity
6th Gear
Can I vote again? GP! Here's 1 w/ just 11k mi in the Marketplace:
https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...k-miles&cat=12

Old 11-24-2012, 07:42 AM
submitaweasel
5th Gear
GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP! GP!

Old 11-24-2012, 08:53 AM
Sonny1az
Neutral