General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Blown turbocharger

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2013, 06:33 PM
LSpivak
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blown turbocharger

Hi all!
This is my first time posting in a forum so bear with me... And apologies if I'm breaking any forum "rules."
I bought my 2008 Mini Cooper Clubman "S" in 2008 under the MINI NEXT Warranty.
In the spring, my timing pulley broke causing my timing chain to make a lot of noise, and also causing a loss of power/trouble accelerating. I started hearing the noise weeks before but it almost sounded like a hole in the muffler so I didn't think it was serious until the power issues developed.
Anyway... they replaced it under warranty and had to replace a bunch of stuff around it too as the loose chain damaged surrounding housing, etc. It turns out, this pulley was replaced when the previous owner had the car as well, but they have since revised the pulley from a composite product to metal so it is less likely to break.
Last week, I started to hear the noise again and lose power, so I took it back to MINI where they confirmed it was the timing pulley yet again. (WTF!) So they replaced it under warranty again but when they took it for a drive after, they realized the problems accelerating were still there.
Further investigation found that my Turbocharger is blown. (MEGA-blown.) They say that the two problems are unrelated, so I have to pay for the Turbo repair ($4,000) which isn't covered under warranty.
Is there any way the bad timing chain/pulley could have screwed up my Turbo? If so, I would think that the warranty should cover it.
They say the two are unrelated but it seems to me that timing should be pretty important to the function of the vehicle...
Any thoughts?
Lauren

Old 11-04-2013, 06:37 PM
chrunck
6th Gear
Received 225 Likes on 189 Posts