General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Burning oil

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2014, 01:24 PM
Provo2014
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Burning oil

Hi all this is my first time here so don't know where to post, I have a 2009 and lately I notice that it's being burning oil, I had an oil change 1, 000 ago and already needs oil someone told me to top it off with more oil since I can't afford to have a new service done, can any one tell me how much oil should I add and what's causing that to happen? Thanks .

Old 05-05-2014, 02:39 PM
markjenn
5th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Provo2014
Hi all this is my first time here so don't know where to post, I have a 2009 and lately I notice that it's being burning oil, I had an oil change 1, 000 ago and already needs oil someone told me to top it off with more oil since I can't afford to have a new service done, can any one tell me how much oil should I add and what's causing that to happen? Thanks .
Any amount of oil that results in a level between the dipstick marks is acceptable. Most wait until it is at the add mark and then add a liter/qt which usually brings it up to the full mark, but you can add more incrementally if you wish.

Oil consumption varies dramatically between cars depending on a lot of things. Most burn more as they accumulate miles, but sometimes a new car has high consumption and sometimes there are very old cars with low consumption. It's a bit of a "luck of the draw" how much oil an engine uses. Generally speaking, the harder they're driven, the more they use. A unusually aggressive or passive break-in is sometimes a contributor to high oil consumption.