General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I've been driving R56 for a year and an MX-5 for a couple of months

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2015, 09:23 PM
mremg
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've been driving R56 for a year and an MX-5 for a couple of months

First post, so hello there!

I've been driving an R56 Cooper S ('09) for the past on year and I don't think I've ever had so much fun driving. Sure there are quirks but that is part of it's character. The shifter, clutch are just brilliant for city driving and oh that steering is so tight. For me the Cooper is the perfect city car. Fits two perfectly and squeeze another two for that one quick trip once a year and a great hatch to haul stuff. Now I want to get a R53 next year just to experience it (don't want to start another r53 vs r56 thread).

My gf recently bought a NC MX-5 Miata and I've been driving it fairly regularly for the past couple of months. I had great expectations for the car as the general consensus among auto journalists seemed to be that the MX-5 is comparable if not better than the Cooper.

But, I've to say I'm greatly disappointed. It's hard to put a finger but there is a bit of craziness in the MINI that I find so enjoyable. It also has better highway manners and is more utilitarian. Almost every review sings praises about the Miata's slick shifter. It is decent, but not outstanding. The shifter feel in the Mini Cooper is leaps and bounds better.

So if there is anyone out there thinking about trading the Cooper for a Miata or vice versa, here are my 2-cents.

Old 10-18-2015, 10:44 PM
Drumsound
3rd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts