General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NBC is remaking The Italian Job as a series!

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2016 | 06:34 AM
Karrock
|
4th Gear
NBC is remaking The Italian Job as a series!

The Verge: NBC is remaking The Italian Job and as a Mini driver, I will watch every single episode

Television networks have found that rebooting older classics is a winning bet. There’s Hawaii Five-0 and MacGyver on CBS, while and earlier this week, CBS announced that it’s bringing back S.W.A.T. as Fox is putting together a remake of Behind Enemy Lines. The show that I’ll be watching, however, will be NBC’s The Italian Job. NBC just ordered scripts for it.

I’m a huge Italian Job fan. Anytime I’m watching TV and the movie comes on, I’ll watch it, no matter how many times I’ve seen it. And I will watch every single episode of an Italian Job television show.

The rebooted show will be inspired by both the original 1969 film with Michael Caine and the newer version that starred Mark Wahlberg, according to Deadline. It’ll feature a likable group of criminals who are brought back together when they have the chance to break their "patriarch" out of jail. At the best, I can see this being a combination of Leverage, Prison Break, and Heist — but with Mini Coopers.

I fell completely in love with both Italian Job films, but not for the usual reasons. They’re certainly not the greatest heist films ever put to the silver screen, nor are they particularly notable when it comes to plot or their acting. What they do have is those plucky cars at their center. They’re small, fast, and seem to exude personality. We Mini drivers often wave as we pass by one another, recognizing that we’ve bought into a small, almost cult-like community of motorists.