General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can running into deep reserve and 87 octane make a MINI misfire?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2019 | 12:04 PM
david_foster
|
2nd Gear
Can running into deep reserve and 87 octane make a MINI misfire?

Found out that exact situation happened to my MINI - driver said they "just about ran out of gas" getting to the gas station and then put $20 of 87-octane gas into it.

Next day on starting, it's misfiring (P300), engine lights, and after the cold startup it seems to hunt around for the right idle.

I'm new to MINIs - is that a common thing?

Thank you!

EDIT 27 September: It seems that gas was the culprit. I removed the 87 octane fuel as well as I could through the filter access in the back seat, closed it, and then put 5 gallons of 92 octane raw gas (C12) in the tank and it ran way better. Since it's not registered yet, I've not driven it on the street, but the idle has smoothed out and two cold starts have gone well. Thank you to everyone who pitched in with help.

Last edited by david_foster; 09-27-2019 at 11:12 AM.
Old 09-25-2019 | 12:16 PM
MrBlah
6th Gear - AX Champion
you have a r56 S? if yes then yes it most likely is related, premium fuel in the S, running down to empty is not good either

Old 09-25-2019 | 12:23 PM
MarioKart
Vendor
If you have a turbo or supercharger then you can never go lower than 91 octane, 93 is best if you can find it

Mario

mQubed Motorsport RPM Power Tuning

Old 09-25-2019 | 12:26 PM
david_foster
|
2nd Gear
Originally Posted by MrBlah
you have a r56 S? if yes then yes it most likely is related, premium fuel in the S, running down to empty is not good either
Okay, that's what I thought. I know that the engines are finicky like a high school girl sometimes. (We have a 14 year old girl, so I know what that's like too.)