Interior/Exterior Interior and exterior modifications for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Interior/Exterior HowTo Fix a BullsEye Chip on Windshield..OctaneGuy DIY

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2007, 06:43 PM
OctaneGuy
Vendor & Moderator :: MINI Camera and Video & c3 club forum
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
HowTo Fix a BullsEye Chip on Windshield..OctaneGuy DIY

For those of you who have never repaired a chip in your windshield, this article is for you! I bought this repair kit for $11. I've heard some insurance companies will give you the kits, but I've never been that lucky. This is my first time doing such a repair, and it was quite easy to do!

So a few months back, I was driving on the freeway when an object was kicked up by a truck ahead of me and struck the top middle of the windshield--fortunately resulted in only a bullseye chip--an eyesore but not a stress crack!

THE UGLY

AFTER THE REPAIR

TO THE DETAILS
It was irritating enough to want to fix, but not big enough to want to replace the whole windshield

So I picked up this repair kit from my local auto supply store (Kragen) for about $11.

I always wondered how difficult it was to repair glass and how good of a repair I could expect? Inside the kit there was a syringe of resin, a razor blade, a push pin, transparent film squares, an alcohol wipe, an adhesive disc, and a little funnel type of adaptor for the syringe.

The instructions are two sided, make sure you read the side on bullseye repair because they are different from repairing long cracks!

The first thing you do is wipe the glass clean with an alcohol wipe, then remove the protective backing from the foam rubber disk (make sure you pop the little center hole out first) and center this over the bullseye.

Make sure to press this down completely--check it from the inside with a flashlight too!

Viewed from inside with a flashlight, I could see that there weren't any air bubbles.