Interior/Exterior Interior and exterior modifications for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Interior/Exterior Vinyl wrap your wheel trim!

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2011 | 08:44 PM
astroBlackMetallic_Mini
|
6th Gear
Vinyl wrap your wheel trim!

So, I hate the plastic looking wheel trim, as do probably most mini owners. So, what to do? Spend $500 for a body shop to paint them?

Has anyone tried to use that vinyl plastic wrap on eBay to just wrap these things in a cool color / design?

Please post pics if you have had this done!
Anyone else think this is a goo idea?!

Old 12-15-2011 | 11:10 AM
HighVelocityMini
1st Gear
I install vehicles for a living and so took the opportunity to wrap my mini in a matte silver finish which included all the cheap looking black plastic trim. After a year of being installed on the car I have yet to find a spot that is peeling. Some of the texture shows through a little but not much. I did use an adhesive promotor which can be purchased from any sign supply place on the internet.

Old 07-27-2012 | 09:45 AM
leaf_fan_1988
4th Gear
Originally Posted by HighVelocityMini
I install vehicles for a living and so took the opportunity to wrap my mini in a matte silver finish which included all the cheap looking black plastic trim. After a year of being installed on the car I have yet to find a spot that is peeling. Some of the texture shows through a little but not much. I did use an adhesive promotor which can be purchased from any sign supply place on the internet.
A year later is the trim still holding up?
I'm planning on wrapping my plastic trim in the next few weeks. Adhesion primer and all. Just stumped on what colour to go with. Maybe gloss black, someone told me to try silver to compliment the Astro black. I'll post pictures when I do.

Old 07-27-2012 | 09:53 AM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Originally Posted by leaf_fan_1988
A year later is the trim still holding up?