Mini/MINI BUILDS Showcase your Build Talents.

Mini Cooper R53 2004

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2021 | 03:46 PM
ttawfik3
|
3rd Gear
Mini Cooper R53 2004

Hey guys. This is my first time posting on NAM and I came across this thread and I decided to share with you guys what I got going on.
My name is Thomas Tawfik and I am 16 years old. This is my 2004 Mini Cooper S R53. My uncle gave it to me from Texas. He had it shipped out to Texas because he knows a guy there that he wanted him to fix a rust spot in the rear passenger quarter panel. At the time my uncle was thinking about repainting the mini a matte color and the guy in Texas knew about it so he convinced my uncle to let him repaint the car and fix the rust. At some point the guy became physically ill to the point he wasn't able to work on the car so its been sitting in Texas for about 3 years. My uncle also couldn't ship it back because he was paying so much for it he just couldn't ship it back. It would've been so much money spent he didn't see it worth it. This is where I come in. He told me just pay shipping and you can keep the car. The picture of when it was grey is when I just got the car because keep in mind the guy in Texas stopped mid-job so everything was taken apart. The grey is the primer that they sprayed on for the repaint. At that point is when I started to build it back and fix it up. And the green is what it's at right now. Its been about 1 year since I've been working on it.

When I received the car, all the body parts were just stuffed inside the car. Everything was either bent or just completely deformed at that point so on a sunny day I took out everything and just let it sit in the sun to hopefully go back to its original form and thankfully it did.