Off-Topic :: Autos Interested in discussing other autos? This is the place!

Why SUVs suck :(

Old 04-06-2007, 04:13 PM
JT-KGY
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why SUVs suck :(

http://www.signonsandiego.com/uniont...1n6stable.html

Enough of them flipped over on the fwy that it's going to affect all of us.

Old 04-06-2007, 04:37 PM
WinneMini
2nd Gear
I'll go ahead and ask my newbie, ignorant question since I am not a mechanical whiz...
What (if any) is the difference between "electronic stability control" and "dynamic stability control"? I'm thinking they are pretty much the same thing in that they prevent the same vehicle action. (Dynamic=adjusts to changing conditions) Am I way off base?

Old 04-06-2007, 04:40 PM
Richds
1st Gear
I understand the DSC requirement, but I don't understand what it has to do with rollovers. DSC mainly keeps you from spinning out. I think rollovers often happen when people are driving too fast and/or not paying attention and driving vehicles that are inherently unsafe.

I just pray sportscar makers include ways to turn these sytems off.

Edit: I was replying to the original post. I assume ESC/DSC is same/same.

Last edited by Richds; 04-06-2007 at 04:41 PM. Reason: clarify
Old 04-06-2007, 04:45 PM
Ken Cooper
4th Gear
Originally Posted by JT-KGY

Stability control is a lot more than, "anti rollover". It's designed to keep vehicles from going out of control when their car is going too fast for a turn or maneuver. It's good. We have it when the optional DSC isn't turned off.

We, of course, won't go out of control with quick turns or maneuvers, but if someone else has it and it keeps that vehicle from going out of control and then maybe involving our car in their accident, then it's a good thing.

Old 04-06-2007, 04:50 PM
chows4us
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Poor you. Another safety feature and your dissing it? Whats wrong with that picture Safety is your friend.

Originally Posted by WinneMini