R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Help! Hit and run.

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2007, 01:02 PM
Iris's mini
2nd Gear
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Help! Hit and run.

Hi every one! This past weekend I was at Universal Studio's Florida and Some one back into my Mini and made a wicked dent and then drove away. Long story short, I think I might need a new rear bumper.
I'm new to the whole Mini car thing and I hate to see the Mini this way.

I'm soon going to bring it to the auto body shop to get an estimate but was wondering if anyone can suggest some web sites were I might be able to get a replacement bumper or a different style rear bumper for a lower price then what my Mini dealership might charge me.
I have an S 2004 in Electric blue.
Any suggestions .

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-23-2007, 01:16 PM
tigwantstoplay
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm really sorry to hear about the hit and run.

@ the driver who left the scene.

Did you file a report; either with the theme park's parking/security, or with the local police? Have you called your insurance company? Did you take pictures?

In your situation I would want the "fix it" estimates to come from a MINI dealer/body shop. In my family, we've learned first hand that while initial damage might not look too bad on the surface, once the bumper comes off, who knows what is under there and might up the repair bill.

We've had 2 incidents on my husband's MINI. One was a road gator - $3200 repair bill. It wasn't just the front bumper...it was the fog light, radiator, bumper, and other expensive things...plus labor, paint, etc.

The second time - he was rear-ended at a stop light. The guy supposedly had insurance. But when we called his insurance, he hadn't been paying his premiums and was therefore listed as "uninsured". The damange was a little crease, barely visible...but it required a new bumper, labor, and paint. Just over $1000.