R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Is my car lowered?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2009, 09:31 PM
ChipG
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is my car lowered?

I know it sounds like a silly question, but I bought what turned out to be a modded '04 S from a clueless dealer who thought it was all stock, and I'm trying to figure out what all has been done. I'm new to Minis, but I'm a long time VW and BMW guy. So far I've found cross drilled rotors, CAI, Magnaflow exhaust, and a strut brace. My car looks lower than the pics I've seen of stock cars, and I haven't found another Mini to park next to and compare. Can anybody tell by the pics? Any way for me to tell what springs I have if so? Thanks

Old 02-08-2009, 09:35 PM
Mr. D
4th Gear
wolf3142
2nd Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
it looks like it has been lowered, but im no expert. nice looking cooper tho!

ScottRiqui
OVERDRIVE
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Well, it looks like it might be a little lowered, but I can't be certain.

The big thing I noticed was the painted Aero kit and wheel arches. They were never available painted from the factory on the first-gen cars, so that's something that the previous owner probably paid about $1100-1500 for, above and beyond the cost of the Aero kit itself.

Sweet-looking car, regardless!

Old 02-08-2009, 09:39 PM
Justanthony
3rd Gear
Hard to tell with the lighting but if it was, it was a mild drop. Check the springs, stock are black. Aftermarket are usually another color.

Old 02-08-2009, 09:39 PM
ChipG
2nd Gear
Originally Posted by ScottRiqui
The big thing I noticed was the painted Aero kit and wheel arches. They were never available painted from the factory on the first-gen cars, so that's something that the previous owner probably paid about $1100-1500 for, above and beyond the cost of the Aero kit itself.
Well, that's something else I didn't know. I'll be glad when I finally figure out what the hell I own