R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Plastic Seat Backing Panel Removal

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 08:09 PM
MiniCarolinaGirl
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Plastic Seat Backing Panel Removal

I am very new to the Mini world. So please excuse me if this is a dumb question. I have searched all over and cannot find an answer. I just recently bought a 2005 Mini Cooper S. I love it! However, my daughter needs a DVD system in the back. I looked into having them installed professionally but the price is a little steep. I am looking at purchasing the pre-made 7 inch screen DVD headrests from Amazon and installing them myself. However, how does the plastic panels on the back of the front seats come off or do they come off?? - or is there a better way to install/run wires without removing the back panels. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 10-20-2009, 09:16 PM
COR BLMY
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

PULL IT

Old 10-20-2009, 10:26 PM
rkw
OVERDRIVE
Received 121 Likes on 106 Posts
Originally Posted by MiniCarolinaGirl
is there a better way to install/run wires without removing the back panels.
Duct tape is a solution for everything .

See the attached instructions. Completely removing the back panel is more work than you might expect because it is a single piece that includes the trim surrounding the seat tilt controls. The instructions say to first remove the entire seat but I doubt it's necessary.

If you just unclip the top part of the seat panel, it can probably pull away enough that you can run wiring down under the panel.

Attached Files
File Type: pdf
SeatPanel.pdf (86.6 KB, 611 views)

Last edited by rkw; 10-20-2009 at 10:33 PM.
Old 10-21-2009, 07:17 AM
Bigshot
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Why not just get a portable one with the straps? And she "needs" one?

Old 10-21-2009, 09:05 AM
thulchatt
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Bigshot