R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Painting a 2006

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2012, 09:08 AM
audiodef
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Painting a 2006

I'm posting this here because there might be procedures related to the 2006 MINI that are specific to that year (remove this or that, etc.).

How do I paint it? From looking up general information about DIY auto painting, I'm led to believe it is not difficult. I'd like to hear from anyone else who has painted their own MINI, especially a 2006 or even a 1st gen of any kind. I think ideally I should remove certain parts, such as the trim. I've never done this before but I'm good with mechanical/handyman stuff.

Psst... I don't mean touching up. I tried that, with terrible results. I just want to repaint the entire body a single color.

Old 09-24-2012, 09:12 AM
clutch6425
1st Gear
just take your time. it is a long project and bad things happen if you try to rush.

Old 09-24-2012, 09:23 AM
Jack & Coke
3rd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I paint almost on a daily basis, although not cars. It's all in your prep!

Old 09-24-2012, 09:39 AM
clutch6425
1st Gear
Originally Posted by Jack & Coke
I paint almost on a daily basis, although not cars. It's all in your prep!
awesome, good to hear. base coat is most important in my opinion (prep) like you said

Old 09-24-2012, 09:55 AM
Jack & Coke
3rd Gear
....also certain colors are better for a first timer.

Old 09-24-2012, 10:21 AM
audiodef
2nd Gear
I definitely plan to work conscientiously and take plenty of time. I'm glad I already have a cover for the car, since I don't have a garage.

What colors are better for a first-timer? Thus far, I'm thinking of either a sunny yellow or a deep purple.

Any advice on removing trim or other parts for the purpose of painting?

Old 09-24-2012, 11:11 AM
daflake
6th Gear