R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 The Great DSC Thread (merged)

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2004, 11:51 AM
Nando
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Great DSC Thread (merged)

Hi Gang,

OK, I know it is a dumb question, specially since my WP/B stripped MCS is currently in production. I ordered the DSC thinking (in my own head), that it is a system that applies different torque, and braking to each tire to create more stability and control under certain circumstances. So you can take turns faster, etc. OK, OK, I am not a car expert. This is what I assumed (I know all about *** U ming). From what I have read in the past month, it seems to me that is actually a system that takes away power from the engine when it thinks you are in trouble, kinda like a clutch that engages automatically when it senses certain situations, or like a driver instructor that takes over when you are trying something funny. I am sure I am over simplifying everything.

I guess what I would like to know is

1) Exactly what and how does it do it?
2) Is it really an advantage to have it on?
3) Any other toughts and opinions from drivers who actually have it and have experience with it. I don't want this to turn into a CVT vs DSC conversation. I already bought the thing.

Many thanks,
Nando

Old 06-17-2004, 01:09 PM
CharlesWil
5th Gear
Dynamic Stability Control

DSC (Dynamic Stability Control), is part of the ABS & ASC (Automatic Stability Control). ASC monitors longitudinal forces when the vehicle is traveling in a straight line, DSC monitors and regulates the lateral forces on the car.
DSC uses the ABS wheel speed sensors and additional systems to measure brake cylinder pressure to determine how the driver is braking, the steering wheel angle is also measured to detect the vehicles path, yaw to see how fast the vehicle is turning about it's axis and lateral acceleration.