R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Newely adopted R53 needs work/diagnostics

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2014, 01:51 PM
jarero
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newely adopted R53 needs work/diagnostics

Greetings all! Last month I bought my wife a 2010 MCS and while searching craigslist for some parts for her I found a dirt cheap 2005 MCS that "needs work". I blindly jumped at it and have gone from nothing to a 2 mini family in short order. I am not a mechanic but I am no stranger to pulling motors, heads, cam swaps, etc, I think you get the idea. The minute I got the car home I think I may have worn out google searching all over the web for info on these cars and the issues that they have. Most of the informative bits that I found were all on this forum hence why I am now posting this here.

Now on to the issues with my little problem child:

I was able to get the most recent service record from the dealership and their recommendation (please see attached images). In addition to the info contained in the images I have heard/observed the following:

1) The person I bought it from got the car with 12k miles and commuted on the highway with it until the 186k mile mark where I bought it.

2) Car has never been modded

3) Car starts and runs without an obvious mis and seems to make good power although I haven't pushed it at all.

4) Car will need a water pump (coolant leak) according to the dealer.

5) No visible smoke of any color from hot or cold start, accel, decel, etc.

6) Runs pig rich to the point that your eyes burn if it is in the garage.

7) Service engine light it on solid as opposed to flashing as the previous owner told the dealer.