R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Tuning software

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2015, 06:08 PM
Mb460
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tuning software

I admit i didn't dig around very hard, but everything i see about tu ing says take it here send the ecu there buy this from that guy...

Does anyone know what software i can use to tune my 03 mini cooper s hatchback?

I should preface this by saying 1, i am a mechanic 2, my boss has been tuning cars since before the E-prom days and we still tune actively. We are in the process of tuning a supra right now. So what software do i need to buy so that we can plug in a computer and tune it? Honestly, i haven't tried accessing the computer with what we have available to us currently. It may very well plug right in, and display all of the tables, but for some reason i doubt it. Nothing else on this car seems to be conventional. Bmw never makes it easy to tune their cars, in fact, many of them can't be tuned without a stand alone ecu, which may very well take a lot of practical functionality out of the car that I've become accustomed to.

i plan to install larger injectors as my next order of business, and change from 15% to 19% pulley. then we will port the head, add a cam and i will start looking at stroker kits.. either way, it must be tuned with each major change. Im looking for 250-300hp to the ground if possible, end result , but would be fine with 250 flywheel for now.

Currently, 15% pulley, stock S injectors, 3" exhaust to stock manifold, and supposedly was tuned by Detroit tune, but have not been able to verify that with them, lots of alta parts installed etc.

So tuning software?

Old 10-15-2015, 07:21 PM
bavmotors
6th Gear
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Dig a little you will find plenty about it, if you've read send to this guy or that guy then you probably already read anything anyone can tell you.
Jan, WMW, dt to name a few.