R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Buying used '05 Cooper S. Step by Step guide of what to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2017, 10:39 PM
myman98
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying used '05 Cooper S. Step by Step guide of what to look for?

Hi folks!

I've just lost my Miata from being rear-ended, and I've been looking to get a fun and sprightly car that's just a little bit more practical than a Miata.

Miata.net is a tough forum to top but I think this place may just edge it out!

I'm going to see an '05 Cooper S on Monday, with 99,000km's, and the owner says he's just done a large service and added a few parts to the car:
  • Polyurethane suspension bushings (A Powerflex handling kit?)
  • Motor bushings
  • Replaced clutch at 70,000km

I've been perusing the resources for days and I have a good LIST of what to look out for, but I'm only a backyard mechanic insofar that I can follow step-by-step guides filled with pictures, and I'm worried I may not be able to identify common pitfalls when I go see the car. So, can anyone help me out with what to specifically to look out for?

For example, I hear that things like the harmonic damper usually needs replacing by the time the car is this old, same with the crank sensor O-ring? However, aren't these things you kinda have to take the engine apart to see? In that case, will I be looking for them in maintenance records? Others like ballooning strut mounts, and rust are fairly simple to spot.

I've also read about a Kick-test to check the conditions of tie-rods? Does this just involve kicking the top of the tire to see if it flexes or wobbles?

So if anyone's got a few things I can look out for (and what those things look like) before I commit to taking it (or maybe a different mini if this one is no good) for an inspection, I'd deeply appreciate it!

This is what she looks like!

I'm so excited, Thanks!

Old 07-29-2017, 02:14 AM