R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Need Help With Compression Loss AFTER Head Work

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2020 | 07:07 PM
DavaM
|
Neutral
Need Help With Compression Loss AFTER Head Work

Hey folks. I’m new here but not new to cars. I’ve been a mechanic for years but I’m kinda stumped on a Mini R53 I’m working on. Some background...

The car in question is a 2006 R53 with 160K. Car had no compression in cylinders 2 and 3 but had over 100 psi in cyl 1 and 4. I picked it up cheap because of this. Car is very clean otherwise.

Knowing all the possible causes, I bit the bullet and pulled the head. Found carbon’ed intake valves in cyl 2 and 3 that wouldn’t fully close. Seemed to be the problem. While taking the head apart I did notice the cam journals were worn more than I would like but the previous owner said this problem just happened so I was/am hoping that is irrelevant. Head had minimal warpage (.0015-.002”).

Cleaned and lapped ALL the valves and they looked great. Nice seat patterns and no signs of problems. Assembled head and installed. Along the way replaced all the seals and gaskets I touched and Installed a new T/stat, water pump, timing chain guides, tensioner, etc. New head bolts, torqued properly.

After a few weeks of after hours work, I went to fire it up and now I have no compression in any cylinders. None. The guys I work with insisted I must have screwed up the timing. Even though I followed the guide to a T. So I pulled the front timing cover/oil pump. Hadn’t done this yet so I guess it was conceivable it skipped a tooth at some point. Well the timing is dead on perfect. Chain is tight. And as I said, the guides and the tensioner are new.